Australian cricket team in Pakistan in 1998-99

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Australian cricket team in Pakistan in 1998-99

Australian cricket team in Pakistan in 1998-99

The Australian cricket team toured Pakistan in 1998-99. The teams played three 5 day tests and three ODIs. Australia won both the test series (1-0) and the ODI series (3-0). Ijaz Ahmed and Mark Taylor were declared Men of the Series for the test matches.

Pakistani cricket team in Australia in 1998-99 Results

Test Matches
Australia won the test series 1-0, winning the first test by an innings and 99 runs, and drawing the last two matches.
The first test was played at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium in Rawalpindion October 1 1998. The second test was played at the Arbab Niaz Stadium in Peshawar on October 15 1998. The third test was played at the National Stadium on October 22 1998.
In the first test, Stuart MacGill took 9 wickets, while Michael Slater and Steve Waugh (man of the match) scored 108 and 157 respectively, for Australia. Saeed Anwar scored 145 for Pakistan. In the high scoring second test, man of the match Mark Taylor scored 334 snd Justin Langer added 116 for Australia. Saeed Anwar and Ijaz Ahmed added 126 and 155 respectively for Pakistan. The third test featured three centurions, Aamer Sohail (133) and Ijaz Ahmed (120) for Pakistan, and Mark Waugh (117 for Australia. Shahid Afridi and Glenn McGrath both took 5 wickets. ODIs
Australia won the ODI series beating Pakistan 3-0.
The first match was held at the National Stadium in Karachi on November 6] 1998; Australia won by 86 runs, with Darren Lehmann winning man of the match honours. The second match, held at Arbab Niaz Stadium in Peshawar on November 8 1998, Australia won by 5 wickets with Brendon Julian's man of the match winning 3 wicket haul. Australia successfully chased 315 in the third ODI at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. Ricky Ponting earned man of the match honors for his 124*.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.